The Next Step?

Hi. I've been playing on-line now for about 6 months and am generally a decent beginner tournie/SNG player with a slowly climbing bankroll. I generally start TAG and loosen up my starting hands as the numbers dwindle. In tournies I usually bubble or just make it into the money (low buy-ins at moment). To me it is obvious that I am searching for the next weapon in my arsenal. I steal blinds when I can, and make stabs at pots when people check (and I haven't hit). I try to take advantage of position, however when early positions raise 3x BB and I have squat........
Not certain if its playing too conservative, or not reckless enough, or not re-raising to steal.....
It seems it is always the same people who finish high on the leaderboard every week... I'm certain its not all luck..... They have obviously taken their game to next level and I'm looking for advice to bring my game to next level..... I feel I'm on the verge but just can't find it.....
Thanks for any advice....

Comments

• Great question... I am sure the PokerPwnage guys will be great at answering this. Also, you should try posting some of the hands that are getting you eliminated from the tournaments in the Analyze My Hand section. This may help find some of the leaks causing you to go out early all the time.
  • What buyins are you playing? We're generally going to need to know that to answer your question.
  • Generally the buy-ins I play at right now, while my BR is small, are in the $1-4 range. I know that in those buy-ins "playing properly" can put you behind the eight-ball early when there are the inevitable "all-in" luck crowd that build a quick stack lead......... However playing TAG early then loosing up gradually as the numbers go down normally gets me in the final stretch to the bubble.......